Skip navigation

It is a lovely Sunday afternoon. The sun is shining and the weather is warm. I’m enjoying the season opener to Grimm. I’m gonna start backtracking through Castle next. A classic chill out Sunday.

Despite all of that I find myself living in anticipation of Monday. There’s work to do on Monday. Lots of work. I can’t help thinking about it.

And so I find myself in a strange limbo. I’m waiting through Sunday. In a restless way. Pacing the room. Distracting myself. Drafting blog posts in my head.

My head, though, is in Monday. Working through items in draft. Planning ahead. Writing paragraphs and emails. Living one step ahead compared to where I need to be today.

I want to get to work. I don’t want to spend time on leisure when I can feel the foreboding sense of all that waits to be done.

I feel like I’m wasting my time in leisure when there is a work do to.

Living in the present would require me to do the opposite. To focus on the joy of today and wait till tomorrow to deal with tomorrows issues.

I’m not sure whether that can ever be done. But I know I would like to get better at it. Any tips?

One Comment

    • James Lewis
    • Posted August 26, 2012 at 9:03 pm
    • Permalink

    I heard that writing a “to do… tomorrow” list helps.

    You write down, in skeleton, what you need to do tomorrow, and as you commit each item to paper – let it go, in the knowledge that you’ve thought about it – planned it – and have left it (ready to go) for tomorrow.

    Put the list to one side.

    Then go do something that will completely reset your head – like take a walk – or go play squash… I would be tempted to go for a run.

    Then you’ve psychologically let tomorrow worry about itself – you’ve made the decision to live today.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers