Skip navigation

I don’t want to start
Any blasphemous rumours
But I think that God’s
Got a sick sense of humor

Depeche Mode

I forced my captive eyes off the swaying hips in front. I chided my mind to focus: I wasn’t going on a feast of the eyes but a necessary departure. I needed to go to the library and get stuff done. I was not to be easily distracted.

I knew what I needed to get from the library, a few books to further my nascent dissertation bravely into areas of law in which I have no experience. I’d left enough time for this to be done comfortably, an extra hour was more then enough to wonder around the library.

Into the law library I walked, and placed my wallet on the turnstile reader. Nothing happened. I put it on the reader again. Nothing was definitely what was happening. I flipped open my wallet, and was confronted by the looming gap where my student card should be. A quick shuffle through my wallet revealed what I had already suspected. Fatema had removed it, and I’d not put it back. Without my student card, Aladdin’s Cave of bound treasure was inaccessible to me.

 I was literally out in the cold. There didn’t seem much else to do except to slowly strangle the 40 minutes that stood between me and my securities regulation class. I went to CoffeeBucks, travailed the line, planned on buying a Hot Chocolate and bought a caramel frappuccino.

There was only one thing to do. I found a comfortable bench, in the courtyard, and enjoyed the fine view. And I reflected that somewhere, God perhaps, or his chthonic accomplice Lady Luck, were having a laugh at my expense.

 

One Comment

  1. yes, this must have happened to all of us, when we wonder at god’s strange sense of humour. but what struck me while reading your blog, is that while sometimes i just grin to myself and comment on god’s weird humour, at others i feel that the universe is conspiring against me. it depends on my mood .. now what does that say about god’s sense of humour?


Comments are closed.