Skip navigation

 

Maybe what shocked me was the way it was worded, essentially saying that Kongregate was sending the data without even asking my permission (even though there is a No Thanks button in the corner) but needless to say, I was not too thrilled about my surfing habits showing up on my Facebook profile.

So I clicked No Thanks, and hopped over to Facebook and looked at the privacy settings for this new program. And found they give you the options of choosing allow, notify me, or never.

The problem however is, that even though you can choose whether or not it is made public that you visited these sites, Facebook still has the data regardless of your privacy settings. Now I dont mean to sound like Im tin-foil-hat-wearing paranoid, but that does seem to encroach a little past what Facebooks role in my life should be.

the Idea Shower » » Block Facebook Beacon

It looks like the the people at Facebook, in their desire to obliterate any real control of who knows what they know about you has broadened their reach to keep track of where you’re surfing.

That said, I’ve not run into something like this myself. The mere thought that it could happen though is extremely discomforting. There’s some things Facebook doesn’t need to know. This is one of them.

If you find that as disturbing as I do, then you need to follow the link and, if you’re using Firefox, put the solution given in the article I quoted into effect.

I’ve done it already, and its as easy to implement as it is, hopefully, effective.

2 Comments

    • A Friend
    • Posted November 14, 2007 at 1:11 pm
    • Permalink

    Done. Thanks for the tip.

  1. What I don’t get is how the third-party sites know about your Facebook account. Do you have to give them your Facebook login or FB somehow tracks you whenever you’re surfing and if so how can it do that?

    Maybe I should banish FB to IE since most of my surfing is done on Firefox.


Comments are closed.