Skip navigation

I don’t want to start any blasphemous rumours
But I think that God’s got a sick sense of humour
And when I die I expect to find him laughing
– Depeche Mode, Blasphemous Rumours

Sometimes what you read just stays in your head for aeons afterwards. Maybe because you feel its got a healthy bit of truth attached to it. Or at least that little part of you that’s a skeptic can’t help but be amused by the irony.

And you feel you have to find the true source and track it down to its origin. But you don’t get around to doing it.

And then someone reminds you of it inadvertently as you casually blaspheme away. And you feel motivated. And you grab that moment by the scruff of its neck, and fire up Google.

And you find what you’re looking for in two minutes, turning a lifelong pending quest into a rather damp event that fizzles out gloriously but abruptly. And rather unsatisfactorily.

Though I admit, I like the way the chorus is sung. And I wouldn’t have that benefit without finishing the quest. Odd gifts at the end of a rainbow. Odd gifts indeed.

Full lyrics here

Watch it on YouTube here

