Skip navigation

We’re now about three weeks into the PCLL, with time rapidly flying as the second semester goes into full speed. In those three weeks, I’ve attended four classes.

Two lectures, on the very first day, way back on 7th of Jan which was the compulsory lecture on Company Law, widely condemned as a waste of time and the the Civil Advocacy Exam briefing, delivered in a similarly unhelpful manner by our delightful Mr. Hui.

As for Small Groups, I’ve got a more credible, though still incredible 50% batting average. Out of the four so far I’ve attended only two of them. They’re quite decent, and I’ve made sure that I’ve gotten any assignments in on time and been a contributor in the classes that I have attended.

Why am I telling you all this? So you can hear about my utter cluelessness today. I don’t even know what day it is. I woke up this morning, looked at the calendar, and didn’t even realise that today was Tuesday. Which means that I didn’t know I had a class, and which means I ended up missing it.

Additionally, between exams, Jessup deadline, Ashara and having Janab at my house, I’ve never felt so stretched in my life. Its been enjoyable and exhilarating at the same time that I’ve found it utterly exhausting. I need the down time, these few days to help me regain my motivation and to physically recharge.

What’s odd is that I don’t really care that I’m skipping all these classes.

I don’t feel that the Small Groups add any value given how they’re taught. They’ve never been remotely difficult, and I’ve prepared more than adequately for the ones that I did attend in 35 minutes roughly.

I’ve heard nothing from anyone that would suggest a single lecture was worth attending. People seem to be playing games, sending text messages, doing the crossword and generally goofing around.

They’re not giving any value from classes at all, and I’m responding by staying away.

One Comment

  1. Yes my friend, you have a point. I feel like I have responded to the decreased workload this term by working… well… less… much less…

    Lectures are particularly unfun and unhelpful these days. Luckily there’s not very many of them this semester and I can finally catch up on my much-neglected mandarin studies (and hopefully Civ4 at some point) šŸ˜‰


Comments are closed.