Skip navigation

5819~American-Eagle-and-Flag-II-Posters It turns out that I have a name and a birthday that matches someone not allowed to set foot on American soil.

That means my nascent application for a US visa will not be considered by the HK Embassy. They will instead kick the relevant paperwork to Washington for them to decide

The downside? This process rarely takes less then six weeks and can take months. As the lady at the counter put it: don’t buy a ticket.

Unfortunately, the Sherman and Sterling Round of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Competition does not kick off that late in the year. I have barely three weeks, until the 6th of April, to find a way to Washington.

I could not be more shattered.

I’ve asked the University to do what they can, and I hope that they can make a difference, but at the moment, all I have is hope.

I can do nothing to do but wait.

3 Comments

    • A Friend
    • Posted March 12, 2008 at 2:54 pm
    • Permalink

    Oh man….that sucks! don’t worry KBS is coming back, ask him to use his extra long vasila’s and you’ll get your visa.

    • Yusuf Goolamabbas
    • Posted March 12, 2008 at 8:43 pm
    • Permalink

    Why don’t you just tell the organisers that you’ll ‘Skype’ into the debate and they just need to get a decent LCD screen in your seat for you to do your Max Headroom representation

  1. oh man, what a bummer!!! i think both the suggestions made by h and yb are good ones though. plus, they cover both the spiritual and the practical aspects :p


Comments are closed.