Skip navigation

Ad--Duha

In the Name of Allah, the Mighty, The Merciful

1. By the forenoon (after sun-rise);
2. And by the night when it is still (or darkens);
3. Your Lord  has neither forsaken you nor hated you.
4.
And indeed the Hereafter is better for you than the present.
5. And verily, your Lord will give you  so that you shall be well-pleased.
6. Did He not find you an orphan and gave you a refuge?
7. And He found you unaware (and guided you?
8. And He found you poor, and made you rich
9. Therefore, treat not the orphan with oppression,
10. And repulse not the beggar;
11. And proclaim the Grace of your Lord

Today evening the Shabab ul Ediz Zahabi Hong Kong held their annual quran recitation competition. A curious feature of that competition was the repetition of the sura Ad-Duha. After all we have a small field of participants and their are a lot of suras to choose from.

Not that I minded. On the contrary I took the opportunity to pay it extra attention because if it was there twice, I ought to get twice the benefit.

This particular sura has always resonated. There is a soothing and reassuring harmony in its dialectic. It’s a portal to reflect upon my life and pose answers to its questions.

Overwhelmingly I answer these questions with agreement and find myself marvelling at the grace infused in my life

3 Comments

  1. I have found your blog after doing some research about this year’s Jessup compromis. I was wondering whether you are a Muslim because your name looked like one. After i found this post, yes you are…

    Thanks for posting post about Jessup. It is very helpful and enlightening for newbie like me.

    Happy Ramadhan Al Mubarak

    – Jessup mooter, Malaysian National Round (2009 and 2010)

    • mtalib
    • Posted September 7, 2009 at 11:14 pm
    • Permalink

    I’m glad you found my blog helpful. I’ll probably be blogging the Jessup again this year but in a very restricted way to comply with other obligations and my belief that no team should get an unfair leg up by using my brain instead of theirs. I’ll have to think about how I’m going to make that a reality, but I hope I can find a good middle ground.

    Ramadan mubarak to you as well.

    -M

  2. It’s OK, because i actually more interested on your writing about ‘advocacy’. Our team managed to obtain a good result for memorial but due to our weaknesses in oral submission, we always finished last since last year moot competitions.

    Good luck in your Jessup’s endeavour. 🙂


Comments are closed.